News
Welcome to the Kent Island Defense League Offical Web Site!

One of our members received the following email from Commissioner Ransom and asked us to send to our email list.  If you have any questions, you can contact Commissioner Ransom (contact info at end of email).

SUPPORT SB 456/ HB 1207 

Senate Bill 456/ House Bill 1207 "Department of the Environment - Rubble Landfills - Location" This bill will prohibit the Secretary of the Environment from issuing a permit to construct or operate a rubble landfill within 4 miles of Unicorn Lake in Queen Anne's County; making the Act an emergency measure; etc. 

BACKGROUND: Hidden amongst the trees in Northern Queen Anne's county, lies one of Maryland's scenic Natural Wonders --Unicorn Lake. The 68 acre lake has been labled, "pristine" and is home to a wide variety of wildlife and aquatic species. Yet, these pristine headwaters of the Chester River are under a real threat of being irreversibly ruined forever. Currently, there is a proposal to create a new landfill near these crystal clear waters. The current proposal includes the dumping of out of state refuse and upwards of 100 trucks per day using the small roadway along the Unicorn Branch. Such a site, especially near the headwaters of the Chester River could ruin these waters and the waters downstream for generations to come. Unbelievably, the proposal has the possibility of becoming a reality. Currently, the Maryland Department of Environment is reviewing the proposal. Unfortunately, lawyers for the development company have succeeded in disregarding the concerns of local residents, the Queen Anne's county commissioners, the County Health officer, water resource engineers and many others in pushing the proposal for the project along. 

SUMMARY POINTS:

SB 456/ HB 1207 IS A LOCAL BILL, THE ENTIRE BOARD OF QUEEN ANNE’S COMMISSIONERS AND THE DELEGATION SUPPORT THE BILL.

IF SB 456/ HB 1207 DOES NOT PASS THE RUBBLE FILL WILL CHANGE THE ENVIRONMENT AND SOCIAL LIFE OF NORTHERN QUEEN ANNE’S COUNTY.

SB 456/ HB 1207 IS THE BEST REMEDY THE CITIZENS HAVE TO EFFECT CHANGE WITH REGARD TO THE PROBLEM.

Please contact:

Sen. Paula Hollinger:
paula_colodny_hollinger@senate.state.md.us
410-841-3131

Sen. Joan Carter Conway:
joan_carter_conway@senate.state.md.us
410-841-3145

Sen. Gwendolyn Britt:
gwendolyn_britt@senate.state.md.us
toll-free 800-492-7122, ext 3745

Sen. James Brochin:
james_brochin@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext. 3648

Sen. Richard Colburn:
richard_colburn@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext. 3590

Sen. Roy Dyson:
roy_dyson@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext.3673

Sen. Janet Greenip
janet_greenip@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext. 3568

Sen. Sharon Grosfeld
sharon_grosfeld@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext 3137

Sen. Andrew Harris
andrew_harris@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext 3706

Sen. Allan Kittleman
allan_kittleman@senate.state.md.us
410-841-3671

Sen. Paul Pinsky
paul_pinsky@senate.state.md.us
800-492-7122, ext. 3155

Gene M. Ransom III 
PO Box 317
Chester MD 21619
office - 410-643-6020 cell - 410-924-4445 home 410-827-9541
www.generansom.com

qacc@qac.org  (mail to this address goes to all 5 Commissioners)

KIDL Web Guy Says:  Write to our Commissioners!  QAC Voter's Guide Lists Campaign Promises

 bcassell@qac.orggransom@qac.org  | mkoval@qac.org
jcupani@qac.org  |  rsmith@qac.org


Return Home
Return Home
Read More News
Read More News

Site by:
American Web Page Design
Stevensville, MD