Welcome to the Kent Island Defense League Offical Web Site!
The following letter to the Maryland Department of the Environment was sent today, September 20, 2002, by the 11 county commissioner candidates.  
Dr. Robert S. Summers, Director, Water Management Administration
James Dieter, Administrator, Wastewater Permits Program
George Keller, Acting Administrator, Water Quality Infrastructure Program
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Blvd.
Baltimore, MD  21230
re:  Discharge Permit and Sewage Treatment Plant on Kent Island, Queen Anne's County
Dear Dr. Summers:
All three incumbent Commissioners of Queen Anne's County were eliminated from the ballot during the primary elections held on September 10th.  Five of the remaining eleven candidates will be elected to replace the three incumbents on November 5th, and will take office early in December.
The candidates who have signed below respectfully request that all activity at MDE related to the discharge permit and the new sewage treatment plant be temporarily suspended until after the new set of Commissioners can review the facts and finances related to these issues, in order to make the decisions that will affect the future quality of life and financial well-being of the citizens of Queen Anne's County.
Your prompt consideration of this matter is appreciated.
Benjamin Cassell
Joseph Cupani
Rodney Niedomanski
Robert Foley
Michael Koval
Richard Moser
Joseph Gannon
Eric Wargotz
Gene Ransom, III
Alvin Helfenbein
Michael Hoffman
Also signing the letter was Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, 36th district.  The letter was not presented to candidates in any of the other races, but was presented to Mr. Baker as the sitting delegate in our district.
Return Home
Return Home
Read More Letters
Read More Letters

Site by:
American Web Page Design
Stevensville, MD